Rough day at the keyboard, dear?

Had a rough go of writing yesterday; did my page minimum and called it a night. I’ve been having trouble sleeping, but that shouldn’t be an issue today, as I slept in for quite some time. Hoping it goes better when I get a chance to sit down and get some work done.

I’m deep in a realm I know little to nothing about: the life of an average teenage girl. I guess I should read a few books for tweens, maybe watch some of Disney’s shows just to get a feel for it. Thankfully the whole point of the story will be that she soon becomes much more than just an average girl, so the voice will change as the character changes. I think this is a big reason why I had so much trouble yesterday; I kept trying to tell the story from a viewpoint I’m familiar with, the dad, versus the actual character. After some much needed rest and a few errands that can’t be put off any longer, I hope I’ll be able to get back inside this character’s head and tell the story in her voice, not that of a grumpy middle-aged man.

Leave a Reply

